Steve Kulp

wookieepedia

In awesome, movies, research, star wars, technology, user-generated content, wiki, wikipedia, wookieepedia on April 4, 2007 at 3:37 pm

deathstar2.jpg

A few months back, I was reading this great essay that attempts to reconcile the six Star Wars film under one cohesive logic (link via kottke.org). The essay left me with more than a few questions, so I decided to do a little research on my own. “Surely, there must me some sort of online Star Wars encyclopedia,” I thought. Boy, was I right.

Wookieepedia is a wiki dedicated to all things Star Wars. And when I say “all things” I mean “ALL THINGS”. Lando Calrissian’s complete biography…got it. What is a storm trooper’s armor made of? Got that too. Never seen a female wookiee? Here’s Chewbacca’s wife.

Sorry. My intention here wasn’t to drag you into complete geekdom.

Actually, I wanted to point out that in spite of all the negative press that Wikipedia sometimes gets, a site like Wookieepedia shows us what it’s really all about. It shows us that a few people can collect, in one place, all we know about a subject. (And, I assume, with some accuracy.) Think about it. The Star Wars universe consists of hundreds of comics and novels, several TV specials, video games and, oh, six feature films. Every detail from each one of these artifacts has been collected, collated and cross-referenced on one site. That’s quite a feat, and a tribute to the power of social networks and collective knowledge.

Of course, the real universe is infinitely larger and more complex than the one George Lucas has created. But I think you get my point.

Leave a Reply

