Steve Kulp

Jesus hates bloggers?

In rants, what the %&$#? on October 17, 2006 at 9:14 pm

I don’t want to dwell on this article too much, but as soon as I saw it, I knew I’d be blogging about it. Actually, I initially thought is was an Onion-type piece of satire, but it’s not that well written.

The Restored Church of God has decided that blogging and participating in online communities is sinful. In one way or another, they equate blogging with drug addiction, sexual promiscuity and bad grammar. Virtual communities, democratic governments and publicly-traded companies are all acts of collective vanity, each a denial of God and a sign of the end of days. I can see the headline now, “Second Life To Blame For Second Coming!”

My favorite line…”If you blog, are you sure you do not partially enjoy it because your carnal nature is inclined towards vanity?

I’m not sure who the author is, but in my mind, he looks and sounds alot like the John Lithgow character in Footloose.

Thanks to Jason Kottke for finding this in the first place.

Leave a Reply

